fbpx

We all know how important it is to obey the laws of the road. While this applies no matter what type of vehicle you are driving, when it comes to motorcycles, sometimes the laws vary more greatly from state to state.
The American Motorcyclist Association has a handy laws-by-state function on their website, which makes it easy to familiarize yourself with the laws for any state in which you may find yourself riding a bike.
Here are just a few examples of Florida motorcycle laws:
A safety helmet is not required if you are over 21 years of age and carry a minimum of $10,000 in medical insurance
Eye protection is required on road for everyone and off road if you are under 16 years of age
An operator license is not required to drive a motorcycle off road
Lane Splitting is NOT legal
A new law for 2010 has to do with wheelies. While this law is not listed on the AMA list, it does exist and is worth noting. A first offense for a wheelie on a public street can cost as much as $1000. A third offense could leave the offender with a fine of $2500 and without a motorcycle license for 10 years.
So, do not take any chances, do a little research to know the road and the laws that govern it when you are riding in unfamiliar territory. No matter where or when you are riding a motorcycle, always know where to turn in case of an accident. If you or a loved one becomes a victim of a Florida motorcycle accident, our experienced Florida motorcycle accident attorneys can help you get compensation for your injuries or losses so you can move forward with your life. We have motorcycle attorneys available to help in any Florida city including Fort Lauderdale, Orlando, St. Petersburg or Tampa. Call us at 1-800-BIKERS today.

Powered by Qumana